The Paris-Nice race is a road stage race that has been run annually in March since 1933, although it was suspended during World War II. The race is run over the course of o­ne week, with no rest days. It is part of the International Cycling Union (UCI)'s ProTour, and is also considered in the UCI World Ranking standings.

Since 1962, the Paris-Nice race has begun in cities other than Paris. However, it still usually starts in either that city or in the Parisian suburbs of the Ile de France region. It has always finished in the resort region of Nice. While Paris-Nice is not known as a difficult climbing race, the last or next-to-last stage always involves the Col d'Eze, a mountain pass near Nice. The Col d'Eze was the finish from 1968 to 1995, but since then the race has finished o­n the Promenade des Anglais o­n Nice's beachfront. This gives the race its official nickname, "the race to the sun."

The first Paris-Nice race was won by Belgium's Alphonse Schepers. In the 1980s, Sean Kelly of Ireland dominated the race, winning every year from 1982 to 1988. Other famous cyclists who have won the Paris-Nice race include Eddy Merckx, Miguel Indurain, Jacques Anquetil, and Alberto Contador.

During the 2003 Paris-Nice race, Kazakh cyclist Andrei Kivilev received a fatal head injury in an accident. This led the UCI to revise its rules o­n helmets, eventually requiring helmets for all races.

The 2010 Paris-Nice race was run March 7-14, covering eight stages and 1287 kilometers (800 miles), beginning in Montfort l'Amaury and ending in Nice.